Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Nigeria Second Federal Capital State

Lagos  (Yoruba: Èkó) is the largest city in Nigeria, the second fastest growing city on the African continent, after Abuja, and one of the most populous urban agglomerations in the world. Lagos is a major financial center on the African continent; the city has the highest GDP, and also houses one of the largest and busiest ports on the continent.
Lagos is a port city which originated on a collection of islands separated by creeks, fringing the southwest mouth of Lagos Lagoon while protected from the Atlantic Ocean by barrier islands and long sand spits such as Bar Beach, which stretch up to 100 kilometers (60 miles) east and west of the mouth. Due to rapid urbanisation, the city expanded to the west of the lagoon to include areas such as: Lagos Mainland, Oshodi, Shomolu, Surulere and Alimosho, which reaches more than 40 km (25 mi) north-west of the Islands. Lagos is now loosely classified into two main areas - the Island, which was the initial city of Lagos, before it eventually expanded into the area which is now called the Mainland. The exact population of Lagos is disputed; however, the National Bureau of Statistics in 2015 estimates the population of the city at approximately 16 million, with the Metropolitan Lagos, which includes: Mushin, Agege, Ifako-Ijaiye and Ikeja approximated at 21 million. As of 2014, the Lagos Metropolitan area which consists of a total of 16 out of Lagos State's 20 Local Government Areas,[9] is the largest in Africa and one of the largest in the world.
Lagos was the capital of Nigeria since its amalgamation in 1914, it went on to be the capital of Lagos State, after its creation on 27 May 1967. Later on, the state capital was moved to Ikeja in 1976.


Post a Comment

Copyright © 2019 SMHC | All Rights Reserved. Designed By SMHC